You are here

Independence of Cuenca 2019

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Independence of Cuenca is a public holiday in Ecuador, celebrated on November 3.

Cuenca is the third largest city in Ecuador and the capital of the Azuay Province.

It won its independence from Spain on November 3, 1820.

Cuenca was established by Spanish explorer Gil Ramírez Dávalos.

The settlement was named by then Viceroy of Peru, Andrés Hurtado de Mendoza, after his home town of Cuenca in Spain.

twitter Hash: